Our team

About Us

RESEP (Research on Socio-Economic Policy)

RESEP is a group of researchers in the Department of Economics at the University of Stellenbosch. It developed around a long-term research focus on issues of poverty, income distribution, social mobility, economic development and social policy. This was further stimulated when Servaas van der Berg in 2008 became the South African National Research Chair in the Economics of Social Policy, financially supported by the National Research Foundation (NRF). This led to further consolidation of research work in this area.

Most RESEP researchers are full-time researchers or research students, though some are employed within the Department of Economics at Stellenbosch University, or even at other universities. Funding for RESEP comes from a variety of sources. The funds obtained from the NRF through the Research Chair and from other funded research are supplemented through research consultancies for various institutions, including government and international organizations such as the World Bank, Unicef, NGOs, private sector corporations, think tanks, etc. A list of some recent projects can be seen elsewhere on this website.

Our Team

Administration and Management

Profile Pic

Servaas van der Berg

Professor in Economics and South African National Research Chair in the Economics of Social Policy
Profile Pic

Silke Rothkegel van Velden

Project Manager
Email: silker@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Carine Brunsdon

RESEP Secretary
Call: (+27) 21 808 2024
Email: carinebrunsdon@sun.ac.za

Researchers

Profile Pic

Cobus Burger

Researcher
Email: cobusburger@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Ronelle Burger

Researcher and associate professor in Economics
Email: rburger@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Rulof Burger

Researcher and Associate Professor
Email: rulof@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Carmen Sue Christian

PhD Student and Researcher
Email: carmensue@live.com
Profile Pic

Nicola Deghaye

Researcher and PhD student
Email: nicola.deghaye@gmail.com
Profile Pic

Thomas Ferreira

Researcher and PhD student
Email: thomasf@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Joel Gondwe

Researcher and PhD student
Email: 19239491@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Martin Gustafsson

Researcher and advisor to the Department of Basic Education
Email: mgustafsson@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Heleen Hofmeyr

Researcher and PhD student
Email: heleenhofmeyr@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Dumisani Hompashe

PhD student
Email: DHompashe@ufh.ac.za
Profile Pic

Adaiah Lilenstein

Researcher and PhD student
Email: alilenstein@gmail.com
Profile Pic

Nwabisa Makaluza

Researcher and PhD student
Email: nwabisam@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Kholekile Malindi

Lecturer and PhD student
Email: kholekile@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Martina Mchenga

PhD Student
Email: martinamchenga@gmail.com
Profile Pic

Herman Meyer

Consultant to RESEP
Email: h2m@iafrica.com
Profile Pic

Eldridge Moses

Lecturer and Ph.D. student
Email: eldridge@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Nangamso Mtstatse

Email: nmtsatse@gmail.com
Profile Pic

Marlies Piek

Researcher and PhD student
Email: marliesr@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Debra Shepherd

Researcher
Email: debrashepherd@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Anja Smith

Researcher
Email: anjasmith@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Nic Spaull

Research Fellow
Email: nicspaull@gmail.com
Profile Pic

ChloƩ van Biljon

Researcher
Email: chloevanbiljon@gmail.com
Profile Pic

Chris van Wyk

Researcher
Email: chrisvanwyk@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Dieter von Fintel

Associate Professor
Email: dieter2@sun.ac.za
Profile Pic

Marisa von Fintel

Researcher
Email: marisa.vonfintel@gmail.com
Profile Pic

Gabrielle Wills

Researcher
Email: gabriellewills@gmail.com
Profile Pic

Tia Linda Zuze

Senior Researcher
Email: tlzuze@gmail.com